A letter to England Hall Fourth Floor

On August 25th, 2016 my life changed forever.

On this day, hundreds of college freshman moved into their dorm rooms at Old Dominion University. Hundreds of students moved all their belongings from a place where that was once all they knew. They packed all that they could and traveled all over the state, country, and world to come to this place that I personally call home. Certain individuals moved into England, certain individuals moved into Scotland, certain individuals moved into Ireland but this letter is those who moved into England, specifically the fourth floor. To be even more specific, the certain individuals who moved in and had Pokemon balls on their door.

To those who I am addressing this letter to I want to start off by saying that y’all have been the reason why I can call ODU my home. I can come home and know that I’m safe. I can come home and know that I’m welcomed. I can come home and know that if I need someone, you are going to be there for me. If it wasn’t for you guys I would not nearly enjoy college as much as I do. I appreciate all that you all have done. More importantly, I appreciate you all for allowing my roommates and I to join into y’alls already built friendships.

I want to thank the people who have been there for me since day one. I want to thank the people who went out of their way to make sure we knew who they were. I want to thank the people who have allowed me to come vent to them when I barely even knew you because I needed advice from someone else besides my roommate.  I want to thank the people who have let me come in their room and clean their room while I’ve had a heart to heart conversation with them, those help more than you know. I want to thank the people who have allowed me to come cry in their room because I just wasn’t having a good night. Thank you to the ones who have become some of my closest friends and gaining my trust. Last but not least, I want to thank y’all in advanced for being there for many more nights like the ones we’ve already had.

With that being said, fourth floor hall mates, go out and be fearless. Be courageous, allow yourself to learn from your mistakes. Allow yourself to make mistakes to learn from them. Do not sit in your room all day and do nothing. Go out and be the best you can be, because I know every single one of you has the potential to be whatever you want to be. All the nursing majors, all the criminal justice majors, all the psychology majors, and the many other majors, enjoy your classes. Participate in group discussions, raise your hand if you don’t understand what your professor is saying, ask questions, and last but not least have fun.

“It’s funny because you meet these people and they make you laugh and they give you hope and they make you realize that there is so much more to life and when you’re with them you forget how empty you felt before.”

Leave a Reply

