Why do you always say “be safe”?

As a child, I was told daily “be careful, I love you” from my mom and my dad. More from my mom, only because I saw her more. As I grew older, she still continued to tell me to be careful everywhere I went. When I would leave to go to school, when I went to my neighbors house, any time I left her side, she always told me to be careful. The phrase “be careful” has just been drilled in my head since day one. I’m not going to lie, when I was younger it used to get so annoying constantly getting told “be careful” everywhere I went. It was almost like my parents didn’t trust me to do the right thing, however that changed as I got older. The older I got the more I started to realize why my parents always told me to be careful and it was only because they cared. The more I began to care about my friends around me when I was older, made me realize that I want them to be just as careful as my parents wanted me to be when I was a child. Even though I cared and I would occasionally tell my friends to be careful or to be safe, I began to say it almost everyday once someone very close to me was involved in a car accident.

It’s kinda crazy how you go through the motions of everyday life and see horrible things happen to people, but you think that could never happen to you, until it actually happens to you.  Once it does happen to you though, your whole life has a crazy new perspective. I always thought growing up that tragic things couldn’t happen to my friends and I because that was only things you would see in the movies or that would happen to people you don’t know. I was wrong. On May 30th, 2014, a close family friend of mine was involved in a car accident that could have potentially taken her life as well as her friends. I woke up that morning with the worst feeling that something horrible had happened, and boy was I right. Not only did this car accident effect her, but it also effected everyone around her. This is the number one reason why I tell everyone I see “be careful” when they are going somewhere. You never know what could happen to you or what situation you could get into. Some people will never realize how their actions effect the people around them, but I do, and I always will. I will forever remind someone to “be safe.” I will forever remind people how much they mean to me. I will forever remind myself about my actions effecting others around me, and I will forever be grateful for the people I do have in my life.

So, the next time you get annoyed because someone tells you “Be careful” or to “Be safe,” just know they do care about you. They care about your well being. They care about if you are safe or not. Be grateful that you have someone like that in your life, because you never know when that phrase “be safe” could save your life.

Leave a Reply

